JROTC changes command; cadets earn honors

JROTC cadets shake hands

Albany High School senior Jesus Castillo turned over command of the Sgt. Henry Johnson Battalion Army JROTC to junior Kevin Kam on Thursday at the battalion’s annual promotion and leadership award ceremony.

Kam also was promoted to rank of cadet lieutenant colonel.  

Besides promotions, cadets received a variety of honors at the event, held at the Joseph E. Zaloga American Legion Post 1520 Hall and bestowed by members of a variety of veteran groups including Gold Star Mothers, North Albany American Legion Post 1610, William Wigand VFW Post 8444 and Robert L. Weininger VFW Post 8692.

Take a look at Facebook photos from the event. (You don't need a Facebook account to see the pictures linked in the highlighted text. A window may appear that says, "To see more from Albany City Schools on Facebook, log on or create an account,” but you can dismiss it by clicking “not now.”)

Also on hand to help with pinnings were family members, Superintendent Kaweeda G. Adams, Albany Board of Education vice president Vickie Smith, secretary Sridar Chittur, Ph.D. and member Ellen Krejci, Citizenship Academy Principal Kandie Antonetti and JROTC advisers Maj. David Erickson and 1st Sgt. Allen Reome.

This year’s award winners are:

  • 1st Armored Division Association ­­­­– Ariena Lovett Blackman, Emily Wilson
  • Daughters of the American Revolution ­­­­– Mary Minila, Hser Wah
  • Sons of the American Revolution ­­­­– John Gormley
  • United States Daughters of 1812 ­­­­– Tonema Mitra
  • Order of the Purple Heart ­­­­– Jaden Cusprinie
  • Daughters of the American Colonist ­­­­– Hannah Bolio
  • AMVET Award ­­­­– Jayen Campbell
  • American Legion Military Excellence Award ­­­­– Giavanna Bacon
  • American Legion Scholastic Excellence Award ­­­­– Keziah Espina
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars ­­­­– Snay Maung, Lin Lai Nway, Ananta Sah, Gay Shee, Natasa Sieghani
  • Association of the United States Army ­­­­– Dominic Hung Tun
  • Military Officers Association of America ­­­­– Christ Ta Eh
  • Reserve Officers Association ­­­­– Xavier Smith
  • Retired Enlisted Association ­­­­– Jahiem Gittens
  • Superior Cadet ­­­­– Mercy Akande, Kevin Kam, Eh Shar Blu Say, Chika Uzoeshi
  • Sons of Union Veterans ­­­­– George Gormley
  • Military Order of the World Wars ­­­­– Sean Keefe
  • Non-Commissioned Officers Association ­­­­– Ryan Linn
  • General David Traub Award ­­­­– Kevin Kam
  • Sergeant Henry Johnson Award ­­­­– Goodness Akande
  • Albany High Memorial Award ­­­­– Jesus Castillo
  • Gold Star Mother’s Memorial Award ­­­­– Shawn Burch
  • Moshier Memorial Scholarship ­­­­– Mercy Akande, Sher Wah

The following students were promoted in rank:

  • To private: Divon Williams
  • To private first class: George Gormley, John Gormley, Ei Chaw Khant, Eh Shar Blu Say
  • To corporal: Flora Ayoo, Jonathon Booth, Lin Nway, Janahvia Robinson
  • To staff sergeant: Sean Keefe
  • To sergeant first class: Hannah Bolio, Mariam Keita, Rahzane Lane, Loay Mohamed, Raad Mohamed, Aye Moe, Desmond Sowah
  • To master sergeant: Sanae Burns, Ungwa Mnyomoelwa, Pili Masudi, Taliyah Niller, Xavier Smith
  • To command sergeant major: Natasa Siegkani
  • To second lieutenant: Dominic Hung Tun, Samira Sefadine Ismail, Snay Maung, Ryan Linn, Ananta Saha
  • To captain: Sadaf Ahmadi, Ariana Lovett-Blackman, Jayan Campbell, Christ Ta Eh, Keziah Espina, Jahiem Gittens, Emily Wilson                      
  • To major: Giavanna Bacon and Chika Uzoeshi