We celebrate our community school coordinators

Woman sitting in front of a laptop talking

We LOVE our community school coordinators! And we recognize and celebrate their efforts this week (Sept. 19-23) during Community School Coordinator Week.

Several coordinators, along with City School District of Albany Improvement Director Michele Bridgewater, met Monday at Giffen Memorial Elementary School to problem-solve, brainstorm and share ideas about their programs.

Each coordinator is based at a different community school. Eight district schools are considered community schools, meaning they receive additional state money to serve as neighborhood hubs that provide services to students and families during and beyond the school day.

The coordinator is the backbone of a community school. Each works with students, families and staff to determine a school's specific needs and identify programs and partners that help meet those needs.  

Community schools in the district and their coordinators include:

  • Arbor Hill Elementary School, Shanae Lawrence
  • Giffen Memorial Elementary School, Amanda Boyd
  • North Albany Middle School, TBD
  • Philip Schuyler Achievement Academy, TBD
  • Sheridan Preparatory Academy, Abigail Gomes
  • Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School, Marshay Hines
  • Thomas O’Brien Academy of Science and Technology (TOAST), Micaela Townsend
  • Tony Clement Center for Education, TBD

Thank you for your work, coordinators!

Community School Coordinator Week is sponsored by the Coalition for Community Schools and the Institute for Educational Leadership.