No Place for Hate regional winners include two Albany students

Two students were recognized as Gold Star Students from the No Place for Hate program.

Congratulations to Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School's Heavenn Marsh and Montessori Magnet School's Ginny Levy on earning the Anti-Defamation League's No Place for Hate (NPFH) Gold Star Student Award for 2023!

The grade 7 and grade 5, respectively, City School District of Albany students were recognized on Friday at a regional ceremony that included 80 schools that participate in the NPFH education program. Only one student from the elementary, middle and high school level are honored every year.

The annual ceremony, this year held at Proctors Theater in Schenectady, celebrates schools, students and educators who have demonstrated a passion for building a learning community of inclusivity, respect and equity through the NPFH anti-bullying movement.

Heavenn Marsh is a student leader on the Myers' Equity Team. This year, in collaboration with fellow students, she used her strong analytical and writing skills to develop a presentation on reducing disproportionality in suspension rates for students of color. 

Ginny Levy has taken on a leadership role on Montessori's NPFH team. Her nomination was based largely on years of advocacy and raising awareness in the building around transgender considerations. She has also been dedicated to raising conversations, with students and staff, on being properly inclusive.

Both schools were given NFPH banners to hang in their buildings.

At the ceremony, Heavenn was joined by classmates Atia Bickley, Constance Brown, Lazara Ramirez and Nahla Anderson plus grade 7 ELA teacher Madison Albright and Myers NPFH Coordinator and Assistant Principal, Amelia Gallagher. Ginny was joined by classmate Ira Nasrin plus Montessori social worker Sue Hodom, and her intern Sylvia Chestnut, along with Principal John Powell.

The City School District of Albany is proud of Heavenn and Ginny - keep up the amazing and important work!