A new crop of National Honor Society members

Students lighting ceremonial candles during the National Honor Society Induction.

A total of 99 academic luminaries were inducted into Albany High School's Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society on Oct. 23.

The students, all seniors, were eligible for National Honor Society because each has maintained an overall academic average of 89.5 or higher at Albany High.

The National Honor Society was founded in 1921 to help create a better-rounded student who would be willing to put his or her talents to work serving others in society. Albany High’s Arista Chapter was formed in 1957 and admitted 15 students in its first group of inductees.

Albany High’s National Honor Society inductions were moved from the spring of junior year to the fall of senior year so that every student’s academic record would include all junior year grades.

The new inductees are as follows. Congratulations to all these academic high flyers!

Allan Aboki; Vince Reinan Alpas; Joselyn Andrades; Emma Andrews; Lucinda Arambulo; Julia Baez; Matthew Baker; Cecile Bamberger; Chrysolyte Baun; Nevaeh Bedell; Kaitlyn Bliss; Claire Bourgeois; Queen Marjorie Bullard; Eldred Uriel Cabahug; Johanna Campbell; Sven Ceniza; Kamela Cenko; Jacob Choudhri; Amelia Colafati; Aaliyah Crapps; Mo'Asiah Cromartie; Bryan Angelo Cruz; Enrique DeJesus; Alicia Diaz; Jonah Fiske; Isaac Fong; Journey Fowler; Rihana Fraser; Tracy Gaa; Cleis Hahn; Alison Hayes; Nicholas Hillengas; Hassibul Hassan; Jaidyn Hires; Ezra Jones; Kennedy Jones; Connor Joslin; Mustapha Kamara; Adina Kligerman; Sean Leonard; Olivia Lopez; Paris Lyons; Htoo Hay Ma; Zoe Malcolm; Christian Mariscal-Dreby; Brithney Marte; Cheyenne McCain; Par Meh; Shaw Meh; Karen Meyers; Asa Mohammed; Asia Mohamed; Lina Morse; Mimi Morse; Lyndsey Murray; Ryann Murray; Ian Muscatello; Tessa Nagel; Xinia Okoren; Macy O'Neil; Rafal Othman; Faith O'Toole; Jaylia Parson; Avik Paul; Usmita Paul; Raven Payne; Sophia Pearlman; Natalie Penna; Eshe Phillips; Themba Pieterse; Daniel Pollydore; Farahnaz Rezai; Victor Rodriguez; Jared Rolon; Maxwell Roper; Pratik Saha; Toussaint Santicola Jones; Maxine Sarfo; Alexis Savoie; Aviva Schwartz; Liberty Seifert; Batool Shehadeh; Eric Jose Sicat; Erik Smits; Caroline Stenard; Destiny Stenson; Mackenzie Stevenson; Laurel Stix; Rylyn Swierzewski; Sandy Toure; Ian Townsend; Azizeh Uzbek; Alexander Valerio; Eh K' Pru Wah; Ther Wah; Nihara Walker-Johnson; Israel Washington; Danielle Williams; Dabar Zarzuela

Visit our district Facebook page to take a look at photos from the induction.

(A Facebook account is not necessary to view the photos. A window may display the text "To see more from Albany City Schools on Facebook, log in or create an account," but this can be dismissed by clicking "not now.")