Middle School Enrollment

The district currently serves middle school students at Edmund J. O'Neal Middle School of Excellence (grades 7-8), North Albany Middle School (grades 6-7), Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School (grades 6-8) and William S. Hackett Middle School (grades 6-8). The schools are enrolled via a "feeder" pattern, meaning specific elementary schools feed into specific middle schools

In order to reduce enrollment at Edmund J. O’Neal Middle School of Excellence, the City School District of Albany Board of Education in 2019 approved a plan to convert North Albany to a small, temporary middle school for the next four years.

Under these enrollment changes, North Albany served grade 6 in 2019-20 and will serve grades 6-7 in 2020-21 and grades 6-8 the next two school years before the renovation and expansion project is completed for the start of the 2023-24 school year. Students moving to middle school from Philip J. Schuyler Achievement Academy, Arbor Hill Elementary School and Sheridan Preparatory Academy will attend North Albany until the new construction project is completed. At that time, all three district middle schools -- North Albany, Hackett and Myers -- will serve approximately 650 students and will be enrolled through new feeder patterns. The district will develop those new enrollment plans through an open and inclusive community process in the coming years. 

Middle school placement for students who receive English as a New Language (ENL) or Special Education services is determined separately by each student’s program.

At O’Neal, enrollment has been reduced for the 2020-21 school year to grades 7-8 only. In 2021-22, O'Neal will serve grade 8 only, and the middle school program will be completely transferred to North Albany for the 2022-23 school year. Beginning in the 2021-22 school year, O'Neal also will be the new home of the Albany International Center, an optional program for English-language learners in grades 6-12 that is currently located at North Albany. That program will move to O'Neal following the 2020-21 school year. 

Feeder patterns through the 2022-23 school year

Elementary schools feeding into Edmund J. O'Neal Middle School of Excellence


Elementary schools feeding into middle school at North Albany

Arbor Hill Elementary School

Philip Schuyler Achievement Academy

Sheridan Preparatory Academy

Elementary schools feeding into Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School

Albany School of Humanities (ASH)

Giffen Memorial Elementary School

Montessori Magnet School

Pine Hills Elementary School

Elementary schools feeding into William S. Hackett Middle School

Delaware Community School

Eagle Point Elementary School

New Scotland Elementary School

Thomas O'Brien Academy for Science and Technology (TOAST)